Gluten Free Alcohol

Rate this article: 1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (18 votes, average: 4.61 out of 5)
Loading...Loading...
By on

The name gluten free alcohol comes from the term gluten-free type of diet. Or a diet free of gluten. Gluten is a type of protein that is being found in wheat and some other type of grains related to wheat that includes rye as well as barley. Gluten is the main cause of health related problems like the celiac disease. For this reason in some cases comes the term Gluten free alcohol, thus meaning alcohol that is not based on gluten.

Gluten free alcohol

There are some basic rules for a product (including alcohol) to be gluten free. According to such rules and regulations, something can have gluten free on its package when:

  • There are many alcoholic beverages without gluten. One may have heard of gluten-free beer or gluten free wine. In the case of beer, the substitute ingredients include honey or buckwheat or sorghum. The people enjoy it like the rest of the gluten containing beers but without the effects of gluten.
  • The product consists of less than 20 parts in one million parts of gluten.

Variations of Gluten Free Alcohol

In the case of gluten free alcohol, liquors like grappa (grape based), ouzo (aromatic plants based), rum (sugar cane based), Saki (rice based) or some others are used. There is another speculation that the protein might be a derivation of the caramel coloration. At times, there is a visible cautious note that detecting a protein in alcoholic beverages in highly unreliable as some of the proteins might be broken down into little but toxic pieces of peptides.  The best option has always been to avoid liquor as prevention is better than cure.

There are many alcoholic beverages without gluten. One may have heard of gluten-free beer or gluten free wine. In the case of beer, the substitute ingredients include honey or buckwheat or sorghum. The people enjoy it like the rest of the gluten containing beers but without the effects of gluten.

Some of the alcoholic beverages’ recipes do not include the usage of gluten or wheat at all. For example, vodka or as a matter of the fact rum as well as tequila do not use wheat as their ingredient. These drinks are potato based, and they prove helpful for those, who do not want to have any kind of gluten in their drink, as well as their body. But just in case, if such drinks are flavored, then it will be advised to stay away as the ingredients used in the process of flavoring include gluten.

Towards the end, the best-known beverages free of gluten are the hard beverages, but since they are suitable for mothers and pregnant ladies, not everyone prefers hard liquor. One should stick to non-gluten alcoholic beverages or non-gluten drinks as gluten causes harm to the intestines.

 

Comments